July/August 2011 Issue • Volume 39 • Issue 6

download pdfDownload full issue pdf

The Results of the 2011 Election Are In


Cecilia Ridgeway

Cecilia Ridgeway, Stanford University, has been elected the 104th President of the American Sociological Association (ASA) for 2012-2013. Jennifer Glass, University of Iowa, has been elected Vice President for 2012-2013. Ridgeway and Glass will assume their respective offices in August 2012, following a year of service as President-elect and Vice President-elect. Ridgeway will chair the 2013 Program Committee that will shape the ASA Annual Meeting program in New York City, August 10-13, 2013. As ASA President, Ridgeway will be Chair of the ASA Council, which governs the association and its policies, be a member of the ASA Committee on the Executive Office and Budget, and the 2013-14 Publications Committee.

Members also elected four new Council Members-at-Large: David Brunsma (University of Missouri-Columbia); Laurel Smith-Doerr (Boston University); Amanda Lewis (Emory University); and Monica Prasad (Northwestern University). Also elected were two members of the Committee on Publications, six members of the Committee on Nominations, and four members of the Committee on Committees.

In announcing the results of the election, Secretary Catherine White Berheide and Executive Officer Sally T. Hillsman extended their heartiest congratulations to the newly elected officers and committee members and their appreciation to all ASA members who have served the Association by running for office and by voting in this election.


Jennifer L. Glass

Almost half the voting members of the ASA community took part in the 2011 election, Although participation was down slightly compared to last year’s turnout, ASA is one of the very few scholarly associations with participation this high. Of the 10,037 members eligible to vote in the 2011 election, there was a 45.1 percent participation rate, compared to 48.5 percent in 2010. In the 47 ASA Sections elections, 53.8 percent participated in 2011. Of the total votes cast, 99.25 percent were cast online, with the remaining 0.75 percent cast by mail via paper ballots.

Here is the full slate of newly elected officers and committee members:


Cecilia L. Ridgeway, Stanford University

Vice President-Elect 

Jennifer L. Glass, University of Iowa

Council Members-at-Large

David Brunsma, University of Missouri-Columbia

Amanda Lewis, Emory University

Monica Prasad, Northwestern University

Laurel Smith-Doerr, Boston University

Committee on Publications

James Jasper, CUNY Graduate Center

Steve Vallas, Northeastern University

Committee on Nominations

Elizabeth Armstrong, University of Michigan

Susan Bell, Bowdoin College

Neil Gross, University of British Columbia

Guillermina Jasso, New York University

Mignon Moore, University of California-Los Angeles

Committee on Committees

Daniel Chambliss, Hamilton College(Member at Large)

Amanda Damarin, Georgia Perimiter College (2-Year Degree Granting School)

Ann Morning, New York University (Member at Large)

Jyoti Puri, Simmons College (MA-Granting Institution)

Back to Top of Page

Print this article discuss this article

Featured Advertiser:

Radcliffe Institute

Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Table of Contents