homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Results of 2005 ASA Election

With a record number of voters, ASA members have elected Frances Fox Piven, Graduate Center, City University of New York as President-elect, and Bonnie Thornton Dill, University of Maryland as Vice President-elect. Piven and Dill will assume their respective offices in August of 2006, following a year of service as President-elect and Vice President-elect, respectively. Piven and the 2007 Program Committee will be responsible for shaping the 2007 ASA Annual Meeting, scheduled for August 11-14, 2007, in New York City.

In 2003, Piven was honored with the ASA Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology. Piven’s primary area of concentration is American politics, with special interests in social welfare policy, political movements, and electoral politics. Her books include The War at Home: The Domestic Costs of Bush’s Militarism (2004); Why Americans Don’t Vote, and Politicians Like It That Way (with Richard Cloward, 2000); and The Breaking of the American Social Compact (with Richard Cloward, 1997).

Also elected, were four new Members-at-Large for the ASA Council: Judith D. Auerbach, Evelyn Nakano Glenn, Michele Lamont, and Gay W. Seidman. The at-large Council members will take office at the end of the 2005 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia and will each serve a three-year term. In addition, members elected two members to the Committee on Publications, six to the Committee on Nominations, and four to the Committee on Committees.

The ASA community can take pride that while other membership associations are experiencing declining voter participation rates, ASA member participation is increasing. Of the 10,942 members eligible to vote, 4,422 ballots were cast, constituting a 40.41% response rate, which is a significant increase over the 2004 election, the largest number of voters, and the highest response rate in more than 25 years. The increase in member participation appears to be due to the addition of a new service with the 2005 election: personalized email reminders urging members to vote. Spikes in voter participation correlate directly to the timing of those emails.

The 2005 election marked the third year that ASA members had the option to cast their votes via paper ballot or online. Nearly 3,000 of the votes submitted were cast online, with the remaining 32% cast via paper ballot.

In announcing the results of the election, Secretary Franklin D. Wilson and Executive Officer Sally T. Hillsman extended their heartiest congratulations to the newly elected officers and committee members. They also expressed their appreciation to all who have served the Association by running for office and by voting in this election.

Below is the full slate of newly elected officers and committee members:

Frances Fox Piven, Graduate School and University Center, City University of New York

Vice President-Elect
Bonnie Thornton Dill, University of Maryland-College Park

Council Members-at-Large
Judith D. Auerbach, American Foundation for AIDS Research
Evelyn Nakano Glenn, University of California-Berkeley
Michèle Lamont, Harvard University
Gay W. Seidman, University of Wisconsin -Madison

Committee on Publications
Michael Hout, University of California-Berkeley
Kathyrn J. Edin, University of Pennsylvania

Committee on Nominations
Nancy DiTomaso, Rutgers University
Susan J. Ferguson, Grinnell College
Glenn Firebaugh, Pennsylvania State University
Elizabeth Higginbotham, University of Delaware
Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo, University of Southern California
Sharon M. Lee, Portland State University

Committee on Committees
Jeffrey Chin, LeMoyne College
Lora Bex Lempert, University of Michigan -Dearborn
Debra Umberson, University of Texas-Austin
Sarah Susannah Willie, Swarthmore College