homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Recipients of 2005 ASA Awards

The American Sociological Association proudly announces the recipients of the major awards for 2005. These outstanding scholars will be recognized at the 2005 Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony on Sunday, August 14, at 4:30 pm at the Philadelphia Loews Hotel.

The ASA awards are conferred on sociologists for outstanding publications and achievements in the scholarship, teaching, and the practice of sociology. Award recipients are selected by committees appointed by the Committee on Committees and the ASA Council.

The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of ASA President Troy Duster. All registrants are invited to attend an Honorary Reception immediately following the address to congratulate President Duster and the award recipients.

The officers of the Association extend heartfelt congratulations to the following honorees:

Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award
Charles Tilly, Columbia University
Charles V. Willie, Harvard University

Jessie Bernard Award
Evelyn Nakano Glenn, University of California-Berkeley

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology
William Kornblum, Graduate School and University Center,
City University of New York

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award
Beverly J. Silver, Johns Hopkins University
Forces of Labor: Workers’ Movements and Globalization since 1870

Public Understanding of Sociology Award
Pepper Schwartz, University of Washington

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award
Caroline Hodges Persell, New York University