homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

2004 Major ASA Award Winners

ASA proudly announces seven recipients of the ASA 2004 awards. These outstanding scholars will be recognized at the 2004 Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony on Sunday, August 15, at 4:30 pm.

The ASA awards are conferred on sociologists for outstanding publications and achievements in the scholarship, teaching, and practice of sociology. Selections are made by committees directly appointed by the ASA Council.

The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of ASA President Michael Burawoy. All registrants are invited to an Honorary Reception immediately following the address to congratulate President Burawoy and the award recipients.

The officers of the Association extend heartfelt congratulations to the following honorees:

Jessie Bernard Award
Myra Marx-Ferree, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award
Arthur Stinchcombe, Northwestern University

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award
Mounira Maya Charrad, University of Texas-Austin, for her book, States and Women’s Rights: The Making of Postcolonial Tunisia, Algeria, and Morocco (University of California Press, 2001)

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award
Jeanne Ballantine, Wright State University

Public Understanding of Sociology Award
Jerome Scott, Project South, and Walda Katz Fishman, Howard University