homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

ASA Election Results

Burawoy Elected ASA President; Pescosolido Is VP

Michael Burawoy, University of California-Berkeley, has been elected the 95th President of the ASA, and Bernice Pescosolido, Indiana University, has been elected Vice President. Burawoy and Pescosolido will assume office in August of 2003, following a year of service as President-Elect and Vice President-Elect, respectively. One of the first responsibilities Burawoy takes on as President-Elect is working with the 2004 Program Committee to develop the ASA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, to be held August 14-17, 2004.

The four newly elected Council Members-at-Large are: Esther Ngan-Ling Chow, American University; Jennifer Glass, University of Iowa; Deborah King, Dartmouth College; and Rhonda Levine, Colgate University. Also, as listed below, two persons were elected to the Committee on Publications, six to the Committee on Nominations, and eight to the Committee on Committees.

Of the 8,966 total members eligible to vote, 2,623 ballots were cast, constituting a 29.25 percent response rate. In announcing the results of the election, ASA Secretary Arne L. Kalleberg and Executive Officer Sally T. Hillsman extended heartiest congratulations to the newly elected officers and committee members, and thanks to all who have served the Association by running for office and by voting in this election.

Michael Burawoy,
University of California-Berkeley

Vice President-Elect
Bernice Pescosolido,
Indiana University

Esther Ngan-Ling Chow,
American University
Jennifer Glass, University of Iowa
Deborah K. King, Dartmouth College
Rhonda F. Levine, Colgate University

Committee on Publications
Carol A. Heimer,
Northwestern University
Brian Powell, Indiana University

Committee on Nominations
Ronald R. Aminzade,
University of Minnesota
Karen E. Campbell, Vanderbilt University
Ruth Horowitz, New York University
Maxine Seaborn Thompson, North Carolina State University
Verta Taylor, University of California-Santa Barbara
Donald Tomaskovic-Devey, North Carolina State University

Committee on Committees
Clifford L. Broman,
Michigan State University
Martha E. Gimenez, University of Colorado
Carol A. Jenkins, Glendale Community College
Yvonne Newsome, Agnes Scott College
Mary E. Pattillo, Northwestern University
Audrey Singer, The Brookings Institution
Robert Washington, Bryn Mawr College
Idee C. Winfield, College of Charleston