homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Major ASA Award Winners Announced for 2001

ASA proudly announces its 2001Award winners. These outstanding scholars will be recognized at the Annual Meeting’s 2001Awards Ceremony on Sunday, August 19 at 4:30 p.m. Chair of the Committee on Awards, Carole Marks, University of Delaware, will preside over this special event.

The ASA Awards are conferred on sociologists for outstanding scholarly publications and career achievements in the teaching and practice of sociology.

The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of President Douglas S. Massey. All registrants are invited to an Honorary Reception immediately following the Address to congratulate President Massey and the award recipients.

Our heartfelt congratulations to the following honorees:

Dissertation Award
Jeremy Freese, Indiana University, for “What Should Sociology Do About Darwin?: Evaluating Some Potential Contributions of Sociobiology and Evolutionary Psychology to Sociology”

Jessie Bernard Award
Barbara Laslett, University of Minnesota

DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award
Troy Duster, University of California-Berkeley

Award for Public Understanding of Sociology
Alan Wolfe, Boston College

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology
David Mechanic, Rutgers University

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award
Indiana University’s Department of Sociology

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award
William P. Bridges, University of Illinois-Chicago, and Robert L. Nelson, Northwestern University, for Legalizing Gender Inequality: Courts, Markets, and Unequal Pay for Women in America (Cambridge University Press)

Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award
William Foote Whyte, Cornell University (deceased)