homeprev issuesexecpublic affairspub forumSTAFF
Major ASA Award Winners Announced for 1999

ASA proudly announces its 1999 Award winners. These outstanding scholars will be recognized at the Annual Meeting's 1999 Awards Ceremony on Saturday, August 7 at 4:30 p.m. Chair of the Committee on Awards, Douglas S. Massey, University of Pennsylvania, will preside over this special event.

The ASA Awards are conferred on sociologists for outstanding scholarly publications and career achievements in the teaching and practice of sociology.

The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of President Alejandro Portes. All registrants are invited to an Honorary Reception immediately following the Address to congratulate President Portes and the award recipients.

Our heartfelt congratulations to the following honorees:

Dissertation Award
Sarah L. Babb, Northwestern University, for "The Evolution of Economic Expertise in a Developing Country: Mexican Economics, 1929-1998"

Jessie Bernard Award
Paula England, University of Pennsylvania

DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award
Not awarded this year

Award for Public Understanding of Sociology
Herbert J. Gans, Columbia University

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology
Peter H. Rossi, University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award
William G. Roy, University of California-Los Angeles

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award
Randall Collins, University of Pennsylvania, for The Sociology of Philosophies: A Global Theory of Intellectual Change

Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award
Dorothy E. Smith, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto