January 2010 Issue • Volume 38 • Issue 1

download pdfDownload full issue pdf

Candidates for 2010 ASA Election

The American Sociological Association is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for ASA Officers, Committee on Committees, Committee on Nominations, and Committee on Publications. Members will receive an e-mail with a link to the 2010 ballot on ASA’s website in early May 2010. Members who requested print ballots will receive them via postal mail. The candidates are:


Karen S. Cook, Stanford University

Erik Olin Wright, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Vice President-Elect:

Roberto M. Fernandez, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Edward E. Telles, Princeton University

Council Members-at-Large:

Mario Luis Small, University of Chicago

Susan S. Silbey, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Cecilia Menjivar, Arizona State University

Joya Misra, University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Bruce G. Carruthers, Northwestern University

Mitchell Stevens, Stanford University

Robin E. Wagner-Pacifici, Swarthmore College

Deborah Carr, Rutgers University

Committee on Publications:

Dana M. Britton, Kansas State University

Karen A. Cerulo, Rutgers University

Kieran Healy, Duke University

Peggy Levitt, Wellesley College

Committee on Nominations:

Edward Murguia, Texas A&M

Vicki Smith, University of California-Davis

Sharon N. Barnartt, Gallaudet University

Frank Dobbin, Harvard University

David John Frank, University of California-Irvine

Richard D. Lloyd, Vanderbilt University

Deidre A. Oakley, Georgia State University

William Velez, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Patricia E. White, National Science Foundation

Nazli Kibria, Boston University

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva, Duke University

Committee on Committees:


Margaret Hunter, Mills College

Maria J. Kefalas, St. Joseph’s University

Michelle J. Budig, University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Charles Gallagher, La Salle University

Non-Academic Institutions:

Lisa M. Frehill, Commission on Professionals in Science and Technology

Laura Miller, RAND

PhD-Granting Institutions:

Wendy Cadge, Brandeis University

Alondra Nelson, Columbia University

The elected members of the Committee on Nominations prepared most of the slates of candidates for the 2010 election; the slate of candidates for the Committee on Nominations was prepared by Members-at-Large of the ASA Council. In order to be eligible to vote in the 2010 election, you must renew your membership by March 31. If you have any questions about the slate of candidates or the petition process, e-mail governance@asanet.org or call (202) 383-9005. logo_small

Back to Top of Page

Print this article share this article discuss this article

Featured Advertiser:

rwjf ad

Back to Front Page of Footnotes