January 2008 Issue • Volume 36 • Issue 1

to print a pagePrint This Page

Social Scientist Awarded the 2008 Joseph W. Cullen Memorial Award

David Abrams, the Director of the Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR), National Institutes of Health, was elected to receive the prestigious 2008 Joseph W. Cullen Memorial Award from the American Society for Preventive Oncology (ASPO). Abrams will accept the award and give the Joseph W. Cullen Memorial Award Lecture on March 17, 2008, at the ASPO Annual Meeting in Bethesda, MD.

The award is given for his "outstanding contribution to the field of tobacco research." It was created to memorialize Cullen’s contributions to national tobacco control, particularly in his capacity as the Program Coordinator for the National Cancer Institute’s Smoking, Tobacco, and Cancer Program from 1982-89. The award recognizes distinguished achievement in continued national tobacco control efforts through research, the development of prevention and cessation programs with wide-ranging public health impact, and public policy and advocacy initiatives.

Prior to joining OBSSR, Abrams was Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior and Professor of Community Health at Brown University Medical School, and co-director of Transdisciplinary Research at Brown-affiliated Butler Hospital. He holds Masters and Doctoral degrees in Clinical Psychology from Rutgers University. Abrams was the founding Director of the Centers for Behavioral and Preventive Medicine at Brown and its leader for 16 years. He is a licensed clinical psychologist, specializing in health psychology/behavioral and preventive medicine.

"Abrams has served a unique role as an ‘ambassador of behavioral and social science’ in the nation’s science policy capital," said ASA Executive Officer Sally Hillsman. "Reasoned and scientifically informed voices such as his build valuable credibility and distinction for our disciplines’ scientific work."

Abrams is a past President of the Society of Behavioral Medicine, a fellow and a recipient of the Society’s distinguished scientist award, a fellow of the American Psychological Association, and a member of the Board of Scientific Advisors of the National Cancer Institute. small_green

Back to Front Page of Footnotes