February Issue • Volume 44 • Issue 2

download pdfDownload full issue pdf

Recipients of the 2016 ASA Awards

The American Sociological Association proudly announces the recipients of the major awards for 2016. These outstanding scholars will be recognized at the 2016 Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony on Sunday, August 21, at 4:30 p.m. The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of the ASA President Ruth Milkman. All registrants are invited to attend an Honorary Reception immediately following the address to congratulate President Milkman and the award recipients.

The ASA awards are conferred on sociologists for outstanding publications and achievements in the scholarship, teaching, and the practice of sociology. Award recipients are selected by committees appointed by the ASA Committee on Committees and the ASA Council.

The officers of the Association extend heartfelt congratulations to the following honorees:

W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award

Glen H. Elder, Jr. (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill)

The W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award honors scholars who have shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions. The award selection committee looks for work that substantially reorients the field in general or in a particular subfield.

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award

Sanyu A. Mojola (University of Colorado-Boulder) for Love, Money, and HIV: Becoming a Modern African Woman in the Age of AIDS. (University of California Press, 2014)

This annual award is given for a single book or monograph published in the three preceding calendar years.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology

Hugh “Bud” Mehan (University of California-San Diego)

This annual award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award recognizes work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others, work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as whole, or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award

Helen A. Moore (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)

This award is given annually to honor outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology, which improve the quality of teaching.

Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award

Thomas Fraser Pettigrew (University of California-Santa Cruz)

The Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award honors the intellectual traditions and contributions of Oliver Cox, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. The award is given either to a sociologist for a lifetime of research, teaching, and service to the community or to an academic institution for its work in assisting the development of scholarly efforts in this tradition.

Excellence in the Reporting of Social Issues Award

Ta-Nehisi Coates (Journalist, The Atlantic)

The Award for Excellence in the Reporting of Social Issues honors individuals for their promotion of sociological findings and a broader vision of sociology. The ASA would like to recognize the contributions of those who have been especially effective in disseminating sociological perspectives and research. The ASA is cognizant of the fact that there are many professionals (e.g., journalists, filmmakers) whose job it is to translate and interpret a wide range of information, including sociological perspectives and research, for the general public.

Jessie Bernard Award

Ronnie J. Steinberg (Vanderbilt University)

The Jessie Bernard Award is given annually in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology.

Public Understanding of Sociology Award

Joel Best (University of Deleware)

This award is given annually to a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public.

Dissertation Award

To be announced at a later date.

Back to Top of Page

Print this article Connect on Facebook twitter

Special Announcement!

Nominations Sought for 2016 Section Awards

Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Table of Contents