February 2012 Issue • Volume 40 • Issue 2

download pdfDownload full issue pdf


Recipients of 2012 ASA Awards

The American Sociological Association proudly announces the recipients of the major awards for 2012. These outstanding scholars will be recognized at the 2012 Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony on Saturday, August 18, at 4:30 pm. The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of the ASA President Erik Olin Wright. All registrants are invited to attend an Honorary Reception immediately following the address to congratulate President Wright and the award recipients.

The ASA awards are conferred on sociologists for outstanding publications and achievements in the scholarship, teaching, and the practice of sociology. Award recipients are selected by committees appointed by the ASA Committee on Committees and the ASA Council.

The officers of the Association extend heartfelt congratulations to the following honorees:

W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award

William A. Gamson (Boston College)

The W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award honors scholars who have shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions. The award selection committee looks for work that substantially reorients the field in general or in a particular subfield.

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award

Frank Dobbin (Harvard University) for Inventing Equal Opportunity and Chandra Murkerji (University of California-San Diego) for Impossible Engineering: Technology and Territoriality on the Canaldu Midi

This annual award is given for a book or monograph published in the three preceding calendar years.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award

Diane Pike (Augsburg College) and Katherine Rowell (Sinclair Community College)

This award is given annually to honor outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology, which improve the quality of teaching.

Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award

James W. Loewen (Catholic University of America)

The Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award honors the intellectual traditions and contributions of Oliver Cox, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. The award is given either to a sociologist for a lifetime of research, teaching, and service to the community or to an academic institution for its work in assisting the development of scholarly efforts in this tradition.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology

Judith Blau (University of North Carolina)

This annual award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award recognizes work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others, work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as whole, or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare.

Jessie Bernard Award

Michael A. Messner (University of Southern California)

The Jessie Bernard Award is given annually in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology.

Excellence in the Reporting of Social Issues Award

Katha Pollitt, reporter for The Nation

The Award for Excellence in the Reporting of Social Issues honors individuals for their promotion of sociological findings and a broader vision of sociology. The ASA would like to recognize the contributions of those who have been especially effective in disseminating sociological perspectives and research. The ASA is cognizant of the fact that there are many professionals (e.g., journalists, filmmakers) whose job it is to translate and interpret a wide range of information, including sociological perspectives and research, for the general public.

Public Understanding of Sociology Award

Douglas S. Massey (Princeton University)

This award is given annually to a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public.

Dissertation Award

To be announced at a later date.

Back to Top of Page

Print this article discuss this article

Featured Advertiser:

job bank

Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Table of Contents