February 2008 Issue Volume 36 Issue 2

to print a pagePrint This Page

Congratulations to the
2008 ASA Award Winners

ASA proudly announces the winners of the ASA Awards for 2008. The awards are the highest honor that the Association confers. These outstanding scholars will be recognized at the 2008 Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony in Boston, MA, on Saturday, August 2 at 4:30 pm. The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of ASA President Arne Kalleberg.

The ASA awards honor sociologists for outstanding publications and achievements in the scholarship, teaching, and practice of sociology. The recipients are selected by committees directly appointed by the ASA Council.

The officers of the Association extend heartfelt congratulations to the following honorees:

W.E.B. DuBois Award for Distinguished Scholarship: Barbara F. Reskin (University of Washington)

The W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award honors scholars who have shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions. The award selection committee looked for work that substantially reorients the field in general or in a particular subfield.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology: John McKinlay (New England Research Institutes)

This annual award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award recognizes work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others, work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as whole, or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare.

Distinguished Book Award: Robert Courtney Smith (Baruch College and Graduate Center) for Mexican New York: Transnational Lives of New Immigrants (University of California Press)

This annual award is given for a single book or monograph published in the three preceding calendar years.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award: Elizabeth Grauerholz (University of Central Florida) and Carol Jenkins (Glendale Community College) This award is given annually to honor outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology, which improve the quality of teaching.

Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award: Cora B. Marrett (National Science Foundation)

The Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award honors the intellectual traditions and contributions of Oliver Cox, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. The award is given either to a sociologist for a lifetime of research, teaching, and service to the community or to an academic institution for its work in assisting the development of scholarly efforts in this tradition.

Excellence in the Reporting of Social Issues Award: Michael Apted (President of the Directors Guild of America)

The Award for Excellence in the Reporting of Social Issues honors individuals for their promotion of sociological findings and a broader vision of sociology. The ASA would like to recognize the contributions of those who have been especially effective in disseminating sociological perspectives and research. The ASA is cognizant of the fact that there are many professionals (e.g., journalists, filmmakers) whose job it is to translate and interpret a wide range of information, including sociological perspectives and research, for the general public.

Jessie Bernard Award: Arlie Russell Hochschild (University of California–Berkeley)

The Jessie Bernard Award is given annually in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology.

Award for Public Understanding of Sociology: David R. Segal (University of Maryland–College Park) and Shirley Laska (University of New Orleans)

This award is given annually to a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public.

Send questions about the awards to Daniel Spar, Governance, Sections and Archives. He can be reached at (202) 383- 9005, ext. 334 or at spar@asanet.org. small_green


Back to Front Page of Footnotes