December 2012 Issue • Volume 40 • Issue 9

download pdfDownload full issue pdf


Candidates for 2013 ASA Election

The American Sociological Association is pleased to announce the 2013 slate of candidates for ASA Officers, Committee on Committees, Committee on Nominations, and Committee on Publications. Ballots for the 2013 ASA election will be sent in early May 2013.


Paula England, New York University

Aldon D. Morris, Northwestern University

Vice President Elect

Cecilia Menjivar, Arizona State University

Ruben G. Rumbaut, University of California - Irvine

Council Members-at-Large

Shyon S. Bauman, University of Toronto

Tina Fetner, McMaster University

Karyn Lacy, University of Michigan

Leslie McCall, Northwestern University

Patrick T. Sharkey, New York University

Nella Van Dyke, University of California – Merced

Patricia E. White, National Science Foundation

Robb Willer, University of California – Berkeley

Committee on Nominations

Elizabeth A. Armstrong, University of Michigan

Maxine Leeds Craig, University of California – Davis

Kathleen J. Ferraro, Northern Arizona University

Jill S. Grisby, Pomona College

Wendy Griswold, Northwestern University

Monica McDermott, University of Illinois, Urbana–Champaign

John Mohr, University of California

Andrew V. Papachristos, Yale University

Francesca Polletta, University of California – Irvine

Dawn Robinson, University of Georgia

Stephen Vaisey, Duke University

Jerry G. Watts, CUNY – Graduate Center

Committee on Publications

Jennifer S. Barber, University of Michigan

Kenneth C. Land, Duke University

Quincy Stewart, Northwestern University

Amy S. Wharton, Washington State University

Committee on Committees


Prudence Carter, Stanford Univesity

Nikki Jones, University of California – Santa Barbara

Jiannbin Lee Shiao, University of Oregon

Brian Steensland, Indiana University

Non-Academic Institutions

Audrey Singer, The Brookings Institution

Rita Stephan, U.S. Census Beruea

PhD-Granting Institutions

Catherine I. Bolzendahl, University of California – Irvine

Katharine Donato, Vanderbilt University

This is not the complete list; the full list of 2013 ASA Election Candidates will soon be online at The elected members of the Committee on Nominations prepared most of the slates of candidates for the 2013 election; the slate of candidates for the Committee on Nominations was prepared by Members-at-Large of the ASA Council. Petitions supporting additional candidates for the offices of President-Elect, Vice President-Elect, and Secretary must be signed by at least 100 voting members of the Association; petition candidates for other positions must receive the supporting signatures of at least 50 voting members. All petitions must arrive by January 31, 2013. In order to be eligible to vote in the 2012 election, you must renew your membership by March 31. If you have any questions about the slate of candidates or the petition process, e-mail or call (202) 383-9005. 

Back to Top of Page

Print this article discuss this article

Featured Advertiser:

Nominations Sought for Section Awards

Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Table of Contents