December 2011 Issue • Volume 39 • Issue 9

download pdfDownload full issue pdf


Candidates for 2012 Election

The American Sociological Association is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for ASA Officers, Committee on Committees, Committee on Nominations and Committee on Publications. Ballots for the 2012 ASA election will be sent in early May 2012.


Annette Lareau, University of Pennsylvania

John Logan, Brown University

Vice President-Elect

Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo, University of Southern California

Brian Powell, Indiana University

Council Members-at-Large

Stephanie A. Bohon, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Scott Davies, McMaster University

Kelly A. Joyce, College of William and Mary

Jui-Chung Allen Li, Academia Sinica (Taipei)  

Dina G. Okamoto, University of California-Davis

Andrew Schrank, University of New Mexico

Jane Sell, Texas A&M University

Ezra W. Zuckerman, MIT Sloan School of Management

Committee on Nominations

Linda Marie Burton, Duke University

Emilio J. Castilla, MIT

David John Frank, University of California-Irvine

Joshua Gamson, University of San Francisco

David B. Grusky, Stanford University

Tomas R. Jimenez, Stanford University

Nadia Y. Kim, Loyola Marymount University

John W. Mohr, University of California-Santa Barbara

Stephanie J. Nawyn, Michigan State University

Kristen Schilt, University of Chicago

Zulema Valdez, Texas A&M University

Celeste M. Watkins-Hayes, Northwestern University

Committee on Publications

Dana M. Britton, Kansas State University

Erin Kelly, University of Minnesota

Mitchell L. Stevens, Stanford University

Committee on Committees

PhD Granting School 

Linda M. Blum, Northeastern University

Zhenchao Qian, The Ohio State University

Non-Academic Institution 

Elisa Bienenstock, NSI

Karen Lutfey, New England Research Institute


Mary Blair-Loy, University of California-San Diego

Monica Boyd, University of Toronto

Ben Carrington, University of Texas-Austin

Amy S. Wharton, Washington State University

This is not the complete list; the full list of 2012 ASA Election Candidates will soon be online at The elected members of the Committee on Nominations prepared most of the slates of candidates for the 2012 election; the slate of candidates for the Committee on Nominations was prepared by Members-at-Large of the ASA Council. Petitions supporting additional candidates for the offices of President-Elect, Vice President-Elect, and Secretary must be signed by at least 100 voting members of the Association; petition candidates for other positions must receive the supporting signatures of at least 50 voting members. All petitions must arrive by January 31, 2010. In order to be eligible to vote in the 2012 election, you must renew your membership by March 31. If you have any questions about the slate of candidates or the petition process, e-mail or call (202) 383-9005. 

Back to Top of Page

Print this article discuss this article

Special Announcement:

job bank

Back to Front Page of Footnotes | Table of Contents