homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsstaffasa home

Candidates for the 2007 ASA Election

The American Sociological Association is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for ASA Officers, Council, Committee on Committees, Committee on Nominations, and Committee on Publications. Ballots for the 2007 ASA election will be mailed in early May 2007. The candidates are:

Patricia Hill Collins, University of Maryland
Michael Hout, University of California-Berkeley

Vice President-Elect
Margaret L. Andersen, University of Delaware
Cecilia L. Ridgeway, Stanford University

Council Members-at-Large
Marjorie DeVault, Syracuse University
Barry Lee, Pennsylvania State University
Diane Pike, Augsburg College
Clara Rodriguez, Fordham University
Rogelio Saenz, Texas A&M University
Marc Schneiberg, Reed College
Robin Stryker, University of Minnesota
Hernan Vera, University of Florida-Gainesville

Committee on Committees
Sara Curran, University of Washington
Abby Ferber, University of Colorado
Mark Suchman, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Regina Werum, Emory University Two-year Institutions
Tina Martinez, Blue Mountain Community College
Katherine Rowell, Sinclair Community College

Committee on Committees
Masterís/Four-year Institutions
Ivy Kennelly, George Washington University
Peter Nardi, Pitzer College

Committee on Nominations
Kathy Charmaz, Sonoma State University
Tyrone Forman, University of Illinois-Chicago
Bai Gao, Duke University
Lynne Haney, New York University
Lisa Keister, Duke University
Leora Lawton, TechSociety Research
Cecilia Menjivar, Arizona State University
Bandana Purkayastha, University of Connecticut
Deidre Royster, College of William and Mary
Robert Sampson, Harvard University
Mario Small, University of Chicago

Committee on Publications
Naomi Gerstel, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Patricia Yancey Martin, Florida State University
Christine Williams, University of Texas-Austin
Julia Wrigley, Graduate Center of the City University of New York

The elected members of the Committee on Nominations prepared most of the slates of candidates for the 2007 election; the slate of candidates for the Committee on Nominations was prepared by Members-at-Large of the ASA Council. ASA bylaws provide the option for members of the association to nominate additional candidates. Petitions supporting additional candidates for the offices of President-Elect and Vice President- Elect must be signed by at least 100 supporting voting members of the Association; petition candidates for other positions must receive the supporting signatures of at least 50 voting members. All petitions must arrive in the Executive Office by January 31, 2007, and be addressed to the attention of the ASA Governance Office. Mail petitions to: American Sociological Association, ATTN: Association Governance, 1307 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005. If you have any questions about the slate of candidates or the petition process, please e-mail or call (202) 383-9005.