homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Candidates for the 2006 ASA Election

The American Sociological Association is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for ASA Offices, Council, the Committee on Committees, Committee on Nominations, and Committee on Publications. Ballots for the 2006 ASA election will be mailed in early May 2006.


Arne L. Kalleberg, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Victor Nee, Cornell University

Vice President-Elect

Randall Collins, University of Pennsylvania
Douglas McAdam, Stanford University


N. Jay Demerath III, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Donald Tomaskovic-Devey, University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Council Members-at-Large

Dalton Conley, New York University
Mary Pattillo, Northwestern University
Brian Powell, Indiana University
Mary Romero, Arizona State University
Ruben Rumbaut, University of California-Irvine
Rogelio Saenz, Texas A&M University
Thomas M. Shapiro, Brandeis University
C. Matthew Snipp, Stanford University

Committee on Committees

Abbey L. Ferber, University of Colorado-Colorado Springs
Gilda Ochoa, Pomona College
Virginia S. Cain, National Institutes of Health
Rebecca Clark, NICHD/NIH


Annette Lareau, University of Maryland
BarBara M. Scott, Northeastern Illinois University
Morrison Wong, Texas Christian University
Alford Young, Jr., University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Committee on Nominations

Suzanne Bianchi, University of Maryland-College Park
Elizabeth Clemens, University of Chicago
Daniel Cornfield, Vanderbilt University
Charles Gallagher, Georgia State University
Kathleen Gerson, New York University
Ken Land, Duke University
David Levinson, Norwalk Community College
Clarence Y. H. Lo, University of Missouri
John Logan, Brown University
Ross Matsueda, University of Washington
Joya Misra, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Ann Tickamyer, Ohio University

Committee on Publications

Ronald Aminzade, University of Minnesota
Amy S. Wharton, Washington State University
Howard Winant, University of California-Santa Barbara
Yu Xie, University of Michigan