homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Slate of Candidates for the 2003 ASA Election

The American Sociological Association is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for ASA Offices, Council, and the Committee on Publications. Candidates for the Committee on Committees and the Committee on Nominations are not finalized yet but will be available soon. Please check the ASA website at for the latest information. Ballots for the 2003 ASA election will be mailed no later than May 15, 2003. Candidates are:

Richard Alba, University at Albany
Troy Duster, New York University and University of California-Berkeley

Vice President-Elect
Caroline Hodges Persell, New York University
David Snow, University of California-Irvine

William Roy, University of California-Los Angeles
Franklin Wilson, University of Wisconsin- Madison

Council Members-at-Large
Kathleen Blee, University of Pittsburgh
Eduardo Bonilla-Silva, Texas A&M University
April Brayfield, Tulane University
Nan Lin, Duke University
Jodi O’Brien, Seattle University
Martin Sanchez-Jankowski, University of California-Berkeley
Diane Vaughan, Boston College
Min Zhou, University of California-Los Angeles

Publications Committee
Judith Howard, University of Washington
Ruth Peterson, Ohio State University
Christine Williams, University of Texas- Austin
Erik Olin Wright, University of Wisconsin- Madison

The elected members of the Committee on Nominations have nominated these candidates. As stated in the ASA Bylaws, members of the association may nominate additional candidates. Petitions supporting additional candidates for the offices of President-Elect and Vice President-Elect must be signed by at least 100 supporting voting members of the Association; petition candidates for other positions must receive the supporting signatures of at least 50 voting members. All petitions must arrive in the Executive Office by January 31, 2003, and be addressed to the attention of the ASA Governance Office. Petitions may be mailed to American Sociological Association, Attn: Association Governance, 1307 New York Avenue NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005. If you have any questions about the slate of candidates or the petition process, please send e-mail to or call (202) 383-9005 extension 327.