homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Candidates for ASA Offices, Council, Committees

The American Sociological Association wishes to announce the candidates for all ASA Offices, Council, the Committee on Publications, and Committee on Nominations. Ballots will be mailed no later than May 15, 2002. Nominated candidates are as follows:

Michael Burawoy, University of California-Berkeley
Teresa Sullivan, University of Texas-Austin

Vice President-Elect
Peter Conrad, Brandeis University
Bernice Pescosolido, Indiana University

Esther Chow, The American University
Jennifer Glass, University of Iowa
Deborah King, Dartmouth College
Rhonda Levine, Colgate University
Mary Osirim, Bryn Mawr College
Diane Pike, Augsburg College
Ronnie Steinberg, Vanderbilt University
Theodore Wagenaar, Miami University

Committee on Publications
Paul Allison, University of Pennsylvania
Carol Heimer, Northwestern University
Brian Powell, Indiana University
Beth Rushing, Georgia College and State University

Committee on Nominations
Ronald R. Aminzade, University of Minnesota
Thomas Calhoun, Southern Illinois University
Karen Campbell, Vanderbilt University
Susan Farrell, Kingsborough Community College
Mary A. Holley, Montclair State University
Ruth Horowitz, New York University
Darnell Hunt, University of California-Los Angeles
Verta Taylor, Ohio State University
Maxine Thompson, North Carolina State University
Donald Tomaskovic-Devey, North Carolina State University

These candidates have been nominated by the Committee on Nominations and, for the Committee itself, by the At-large members of Council. As is stated in the ASA By-laws, additional candidates may be nominated through the open nominations procedure. Petitions supporting candidates for the offices of President-Elect and Vice President-Elect must be signed by at least 100 supporting voting members of the Association; petitioned candidates for other positions must receive the support of at least 50 voting members. Individuals may send in a petition for a candidate via mail or fax, but all petitions must bear a memberís signature. All petitions must arrive in the Executive Office by January 31, 2002, to the attention of ASA Governance, fax (202) 638-0882.