homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home
2001 Annual Meeting
Candidates for ASA Offices, Council, Committees

The American Sociological Association wishes to announce the candidates for all ASA Offices, Council, the Committee on Publications, and Committee on Nominations. Ballots will be mailed no later than May 15, 2002. Nominated candidates are as follows:

Michael Burawoy, University of California-Berkeley
Teresa Sullivan, University of Texas-Austin

Vice President-Elect
Peter Conrad, Brandeis University
Bernice Pescosolido, Indiana University

Esther Chow, The American University
Jennifer Glass, University of Iowa

also in this issue
  Executive Officer Levine to Depart ASA in May 2002

Executive Officer Felice J. Levine has announced that she will leave the American Sociological Association in May to become Executive Director of the American Educational Research Association (AERA). On accepting Levine's resignation, President Barbara Reskin emphasized the "loss to the ASA of Levine's departure."

ASA Executive Officer Search

2001 Annual Meeting
  Donations to Special Funds Sought

ASA thanks all of our colleagues who have supported ASA's work to advance sociology in 2001. These donations to ASA's restricted funds have a significant impact on our discipline and profession. Like many non-profits, ASA has felt the post-September 11 decline in contributions.

Developed by The American Sociological Association ©2001 All rights reserved.