homeprev issuesexecpublic affairsSTAFFASA home

Candidates for ASA Offices, Council, Committees

The American Sociological Association wishes to announce the candidates for all ASA Offices, Council, the Committee on Publications, and Committee on Nominations. Ballots will be mailed no later than May 15, 2001. Nominated candidates are as follows:

William Bielby, University of California, Santa Barbara
Paula England, University of Pennsylvania

Vice President-Elect
Lawrence Bobo, Harvard University
Ivan Szelenyi, Yale University

Linda Burton, Penn State University
Robert Crutchfield, University of Washington
Mary Jackman, University of California, Davis
Peter Marsden, Harvard University
John Meyer, Stanford University
S. Philip Morgan, Duke University
Victor Nee, Cornell University
Pamela B. Walters, Indiana University

Committee on Publications
Thomas DiPrete, Duke University
Rachel Rosenfeld, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
David Snow, University of Arizona
Robert Wuthnow, Princeton University

Committee on Nominations
Judith Auerbach, National Institutes of Health
Denise Bielby, University of California, Santa Barbara
Irene Browne, Emory University
Daniel F. Chambliss, Hamilton College
Mark Chaves, University of Arizona
Jeffrey Chin, Lemoyne College
Marlese Durr, Wright State University
Kathryn Edin, Northwestern University
Deborah King, Dartmouth College
Annette Lareau, Temple University
Tom Shapiro, Northeastern University
Sarah Willie, Swarthmore College

These candidates have been nominated by the Committee on Nominations and, for the Committee itself, by the At-large members of Council. As is stated in the By-laws, additional candidates may be nominated through the open nominations procedure. Petitions supporting candidates for the offices of President-Elect and Vice President-Elect must be signed by at least 100 supporting voting members of the Association; petitioned candidates for other positions must receive the support of at least 50 voting members. Individuals may send in a petition for a candidate via mail or fax, but all petitions must bear a memberís signature. All petitions must arrive in the Executive Office by January 31, 2001, to the attention of David Bachman, Governance Coordinator, fax (202) 638-0882.