Section on Social Psychology

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws |

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Social Psychology is to foster the development of this branch of sociology through stimulating research and communicating knowledge. Social psychology is interpreted according to its inclusive and traditional use in sociology to encompass such broad fields as socialization, interpersonal relations and social interaction, attitudes and public opinion, and collective behavior.


Section Officers 2014-2015

Chair: Timothy J. Owens, Kent State University
Chair-Elect: Cathryn Johnson, Emory University
Past Chair: Jeremy Freese, Northwestern University
Secretary/Treasurer: Jessica L. Collett, University of Notre Dame 2016

Section Council

Alison J. Bianchi, University of Iowa 2015
Tim Hallett, Indiana University 2015
Richard T. Serpe, Kent State University 2016
Peggy A. Thoits, Indiana University 2016
Jody Clay-Warner, University of Georgia 2017
Kathryn J. Lively, Dartmouth College 2017

Student Representatives

Aaron Heshel Silverman, Stanford University 2015
Elizabeth Culatta, University of Georgia 2016

Newsletter Editor

Bridget K. Welch, Western Illinois University


Philip Brenner, University of Massachusetts, Boston

Cooley-Mead Award Committee

Gary Fine (chair)
Jan Stets
Alison Bianchi
Brian Powell
Lynn Smith-Lovin


Outstanding Recent Contribution in Social Psychology Award Committee

Matthew Hunt, Northeastern (chair)
Steve Hitlin
Ellen Granberg
David Melamed
Carla Goar

Graduate Student Advisory Committee

Long Doan, Indiana University
Jess Meyer, Northwestern University
Aaron Silverman, Stanford University
Katie James, University of Georgia)
Trent Mize, Indiana University
Alec Watts, Stanford University

Graduate Affairs Committee

John DeLamater (Chair) Scott Savage
Celeste Campos-Castillo
Sarah Thébaud
Karen Powroznik (graduate student member)

Graduate Student Investigator Committee

David Schafer (chair)
Tim Hallett
Justine Tinkler

Nominations Committee

Debby Carr (chair)
Shelley Correll
Dawn Robinson
Doug Maynard
Trent Mize (graduate student member)

Professional and External Affairs Committee

Murray Webster (chair)
David Merolla
Mamadi Corra
Rashawn Ray

Endowment Development Committee

Karen Hegtvedt (chair)
Richard Serpe
Jane Sell
Alicia Cast

Membership Committee

Stephen Bernard (chair)
Nobuyuki Takahashi
D’Lane Compton
Corey Fields

Program Committee

Christopher Bail
Jessica Collett
Michael Shanahan