Section on Sexualities

 Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws |


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on the Sociology of Sexualities is to encourage, enhance and foster research, teaching and other professional activities in the sociology of sexuality, for the development of sociology and the benefit of society, through organized meetings, conferences, newsletters, publications, awards, and other means deemed appropriate by the Section Council. The Section seeks to promote communication, collaboration, and consultation among scholars in sociology, the sociology of sexualities, and allied disciplines.

Section Officers 2014-2015

Chair Hector Carrillo, Northwestern University
Chair-Elect Lorena Garcia, University of Illinois at Chicago
Past Chair Salvador Vidal-Ortiz, American University
Secretary/Treasurer Catherine E. Connell, Boston University 2016

Section Council

Amin Ghaziani, University of British Columbia 2015
Carla A. Pfeffer, Purdue University North Central 2015
Melanie Heath, McMaster University 2016
Kimberly Kay Hoang, Boston College 2016
Eric Anthony Grollman, University of Richmond 2017
Tey Meadow, Princeton University 2017

Student Representatives

Abigail Ruth Ocobock, University of Chicago 2015
Suzan Walters, SUNY Stony Brook 2015