Section on Science, Knowledge & Technology Call for Awards Nominees Statement

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws |

­

 

Section on Science, Knowledge and Technology's Robert K. Merton Book Award, 2015

The Science, Knowledge, and Technology Section invites nominations (including self-nominations) for the 2015 Robert K. Merton Book Award. The award is given annually in recognition of an outstanding book on science, knowledge, and/or technology published during the preceding three years (2014, 2013, or 2012). Single or multi-authored works are eligible, but not edited volumes. The winner, who should be a member of SKAT during the year in which the award is given, will be honored at the ASA Annual Meetings in Chicago (August 22-25, 2015) and will receive a plaque. The deadline for nominations is February 1, 2015. Books should be received from authors or publishers no later than March 1, 2015. The committee members and their mailing addresses are listed below. Nominations or requests for more information should be sent to the committee chair, Jennifer Fishman, at  jennifer.fishman@mcgill.ca.

Copies of nominated books should be received by all committee members by March 1, 2015:

Jennifer Fishman
Biomedical Ethics Unit
3647 Peel Street #307
Montreal, QC H3A 1X1
Canada

Mary Frank Fox
Advance Professor
School of Public Policy
Georgia Institute of Technology
685 Cherry Street
Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0345

Sara Shostak
c/o Department of Sociology
Harvard University
675 William James Hall
33 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA  02138

Benjamin Sims
Statistical Sciences Group
Mailstop F600
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM 87545

Steven Epstein (ex officio)
Northwestern University
Department of Sociology
1810 Chicago Ave
Evanston, IL 60208
 

Section on Science, Knowledge and Technology's Star-Nelkin Paper Award, 2015

The Science, Knowledge, and Technology Section invites nominations for the 2015 Star-Nelkin Paper Award. In 2011, our newest award was renamed in memory of Susan Leigh Star and Dorothy Nelkin, each of whom contributed in numerous ways to our field. SKAT welcomes nominations of published articles that advance the field of sociology of science, knowledge, and technology. To be eligible, an article’s earliest date of publication in a scholarly journal (whether online or in print) must have been in 2013 or 2014. The winner will be honored at the ASA meetings in Chicago (August 22-25, 2015) and will receive a plaque. Self-nominations are welcome. Nominated articles must be received no later than March 15, 2015. Please send brief nominating statements and copies of nominated articles in PDF format to all members of the selection committee, listed below, via email:

James Evans (chair) (jevans@uchicago.edu)
Carol Heimer (c-heimer@northwestern.edu)
Daniel Breslau (dbreslau@vt.edu)
Janet Vertesi (jvertesi@princeton.edu)
Steven Epstein (ex officio) (s-epstein@northwestern.edu)
 

Section on Science, Knowledge and Technology's Hacker-Mullins Student Paper Award, 2015

The Science, Knowledge and Technology Section invites submissions for the 2015 Hacker-Mullins Graduate Student Paper Award. The winner will be honored at the ASA meetings in Chicago (August 22-25, 2015) and will receive a plaque. The award also comes with a $350 prize. The deadline for submissions is March 15, 2015. Self-nominations are welcome. To be eligible, an author must be a student at the time of submission. Published and unpublished papers are accepted; if published, the article must have been published no earlier than 2013. This year’s committee members are Jill Fisher (Chair), Laura Stark, Elise Paradis, Mariana Craciun, and Steven Epstein (ex officio). Please send the nominated paper and a brief nominating statement in one PDF document, via email, to Jill Fisher at jill.fisher@unc.edu.

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS