Section on Population

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Sociology of Population is to foster the development of the study of population within the context of sociology.

Section Officers 2014-2015

Chair: Irma T. Elo, University of Pennsylvania
Chair-Elect: Kyle Crowder, University of Washington
Past Chair: Kelly Raley, University of Texas, Austin
Secretary/Treasurer: Peter D. Brandon, University at Albany 2015

Section Council


Kathleen Anne Cagney, University of Chicago 2015
Hans-Peter Kohler, University of Pennsylvania 2015
David Lindstrom, Brown University 2016
Y. Claire Yang, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 2016
Sarah Burgard, University of Michigan 2017
James M. Raymo, University of Wisconsin-Madison 2017

Student Representatives

Jennifer Melvin, University of Texas at Austin 2015
Jennifer Laird, University of Washington 2016