Peace, War, and Social Conflict Call for Awards Nominees Statement

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws


The Peace, War and Social Conflict Section's Robin M. Williams, Jr. Award for Distinguished Contributions to Scholarship, Teaching, and Service

Deadline: 3/1/2016

The Section shall give an Award for Distinguished Contributions to Scholarship, Teaching, and Service named to honor Robin Williams to recognize his contributions to the study of social conflict, conflict resolution, and war as well as his role as a founding member of the Section. This award shall honor a Section member who has had an outstanding scholarly career in the study of peace, war, genocide, military institutions, or social conflict, has made important contributions to teaching the sociology of peace, war, and social conflict, and/or has given outstanding service to the ASA Section on Peace, War, and Social Conflict.

Committee
Chair: Ryan Kelty (rkelty2@washcoll.edu)
Committee Chair Catherine Corrigall-Brown (corrigall.brown@gmail.com)
Lisa Leitz (leitz@chapman.edu).

The Peace, War and Social Conflict Section's Outstanding Book Award

Deadline: 3/1/2016

The Section will offer an award for the best book. The chair will solicit nominations from the members of the section, and all books relevant to the section’s interests published in the previous year (i.e. published in 2015) will be eligible.

Committee
Chair: Molly Clever (Clever_m@wvwc.edu)
Chair Lisa Leitz (leitz@chapman.edu)
Eran Shor (ershor@gmail.com)

The Peace, War and Social Conflict Section's Elise Boulding Student Paper Award

Deadline: 3/1/2016

The Section shall give a student paper award named in honor of Elise Boulding to recognize her contributions to the study of peace and her role as a founding member of the Section. Papers submitted for the student paper award should be unpublished, while published papers or those accepted for publication should be submitted to the published paper award. We welcome submissions from undergraduate and graduate students. All authors should be students at the time of submission.

Committee
Marie Berry (marie.berry@du.edu)
Amy Kate Bailey (akbailey@uic.edu)
Robert Braun (rb529@cornell.edu)
Hassan El Menyawi (hem251@nyu.edu)

The Peace, War and Social Conflict Section's Outstanding Published Article

Deadline: 3/1/2016

The Section will offer an award for the best published journal article or book chapter. The chair will solicit nominations from the members of the section, and all papers relevant to the section’s interests published in the previous calendar year (i.e. published in 2015) will be eligible.

Committee
Louis Esparza (lesparz5@calstatela.edu)
Chair Daniel Burland (daniel.burland@stmary.edu)
Colin Beck (cbeck@pomona.edu)

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS