Sociology of Law Call for Awards Nominee Statement

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | | Bylaws

 

The Sociology of Law Section Distinguished Book Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2016 Distinguished Book Award, recognizing an outstanding book published between 2014 and 2016 in the sociology of law. We accept nominations from authors, editors, publishers, and section members. To nominate a book, please submit a brief (no more than one page) letter noting its contributions to the field. The deadline is February 29, 2016. Please submit materials to each committee member (nominating letters may be e-mailed; please arrange with publishers to send review copies of the book to the committee members): Robert L. Nelson, chair rnelson@abfn.org; Sarah Brayne sbrayne@utexas.edu, Ifeoma Ajunwa iajunwa@gmail.com

 

The Sociology of Law Section Distinguished Article Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2016 Distinguished Article Award, recognizing an outstanding article published between 2014 and 2016 in the sociology of law. We accept nominations from authors and section members. To nominate an article, please include a brief (no more than one page) letter noting its contributions to the field. The deadline is February 29, 2016. Please email materials (including the article) to each committee member: David Frank, chair frankd@uci.edu; Osagie Obasagie obasogie@uchastings.edu ; Danielle Rudes drudes@gmu.edu; Tugce Ellialti-Kose ellialti@sas.upenn.edu;

 

The Sociology of Law Section Graduate Student Paper Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2016 Graduate Student Paper Award, recognizing an outstanding paper written between 2014 and 2016 in the sociology of law. The first author must have been a graduate student when the piece was written. Entries should be double-spaced and no longer than 35 pages (including tables, appendices, and references). We accept nominations from authors, faculty advisors, and section members. To nominate a paper, please include a brief (no more than one page) letter noting its contributions to the field. The deadline is February 29, 2016. Please email materials (including the paper) to each committee member: Mary Rose, chair mrose@austin.utexas.edu; Shaun Ossei-Owusu sowusu@berkeley.edu, Lynette Chua lynettechua@nus.edu.sg, Michael Yarbrough myarbrough@jjay.cuny.edu,

 

The Sociology of Law Section Undergraduate Student Paper Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2016 Undergraduate Student Paper Award, recognizing an outstanding paper written between 2014 and 2016 in the sociology of law. The first author must have been an undergraduate student when the piece was written. Entries should be double-spaced and no longer than 35 pages (including tables, appendices, and references). We accept nominations from authors, faculty advisors, and section members. To nominate a paper, please include a brief (no more than one page) letter noting its contributions to the field. The deadline is February 29, 2016.  Please email materials (including the paper) to each committee member: Dan Hirschman, chair dandanar@umich.edu, Aaron Smyth asmyth@berkeley.edu, Jessie Finch jessiekfinch@gmail.com, Cesar Rosado crosado@kentlaw.iit.edu

 

All winners will be recognized at the 2016 ASA Annual Meeting in Seattle.

See http://www.asanet.org/sections/law_awards.cfm for more information.

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS