Sociology of Law Call for Awards Nominee Statement

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | | Bylaws

Sociology of Law Distinguished Book Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2015 Distinguished Book Award, recognizing an outstanding book published between 2013 and 2015 in the sociology of law. We accept nominations from authors, editors, publishers, and section members. To nominate a book, please submit a brief (no more than one page) letter noting its contributions to the field. The deadline is March 1, 2015. Please submit materials to each committee member (nominating letters may be e-mailed; please arrange with publishers to send review copies of the book to the committee members): Rebecca Sandefur, Book Award Committee Chair, Dept. of Sociology, 3120 Lincoln Hall, 702 S. Wright St., Urbana, IL 61801, sandefur@illinois.edu; Michele Landis Dauber, Stanford Law School, 559 Nathan Abbott Way, Stanford, CA 94305, mldauber@stanford.edu; Ruth Horowitz, Dept. of Sociology, Puck Building, 295 Lafayette Street - 4th Floor, New York, NY 10012, ruth.horowitz@nyu.edu.

Sociology of Law Distinguished Article Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2015 Distinguished Article Award, recognizing an outstanding article published between 2013 and 2015 in the sociology of law. We accept nominations from authors and section members. To nominate an article, please include a brief (no more than one page) letter noting its contributions to the field. The deadline is March 1, 2015. Please email materials (including the article) to each committee member: Alexandra Kalev, Article Award Committee Chair, akalev@post.tau.ac.il; Sandra Levitsky, slevitsk@umich.edu; Sida Liu, sidaliu@ssc.wisc.edu; Susan Silbey, ssilbey@mit.edu.

 

Sociology of Law Graduate Student Paper Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2015 Graduate Student Paper Award, recognizing an outstanding paper written between 2013 and 2015 in the sociology of law. The first author must have been a graduate student when the piece was written. Entries should be double-spaced and no longer than 35 pages (including tables, appendices, and references). We accept nominations from authors, faculty advisors, and section members. To nominate a paper, please include a brief (no more than one page) letter noting its contributions to the field. The deadline is March 1, 2015. Please email materials (including the paper) to each committee member: Leisy Abrego, Graduate Paper Award Committee Chair, abrego@ucla.edu; Hollie Nyseth Brehm, brehm.84@osu.edu; Steve Boutcher, boutcher@soc.umass.edu; Wesley Longhofer, Wesley.Longhofer@emory.edu.

 

Sociology of Law Undergraduate Student Paper Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2015 Undergraduate Student Paper Award, recognizing an outstanding paper written between 2013 and 2015 in the sociology of law. The first author must have been an undergraduate student when the piece was written. Entries should be double-spaced and no longer than 35 pages (including tables, appendices, and references). We accept nominations from authors, faculty advisors, and section members. To nominate a paper, please include a brief (no more than one page) letter noting its contributions to the field. The deadline is March 1, 2015.  Please email materials (including the paper) to each committee member: Mary Rose, Undergraduate Paper Award Committee Chair, mrose@austin.utexas.edu; Lynn Jones, lynn.jones@nau.edu; John Bliss, jwb@berkeley.edu; Michael Stambolis-Ruhstorfer, mstambolis@ucla.edu.

All winners will be recognized at the 2015 ASA Annual Meeting in Chicago.

See http://www.asanet.org/sections/law_awards.cfm for more information.

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS