The Section on Inequality, Poverty and Mobility
Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Inequality, Poverty, and Mobility is to foster research and disseminate knowledge on the distribution of material and nonmaterial resources, and the economic, social, and cultural forces that generate and perpetuate unequal distributions of these resources. The Section welcomes members of all theoretical and methodological persuasions and embraces work that considers inequalities in all institutions and social contexts.

Section Officers, 2013-2014

Chair: Bruce Western, Harvard University
Chair-Elect: Michele Lamont, Harvard University
Past Chair: Kim Weeden, Cornell University

Stephen Morgan, Cornell University ('15)
Ted Mouw, University of North Carolina -- Chapel Hill ('15)
Jennifer Lee, University of California, Irvine ('16)
Florencia Torche, New York University ('16)