Environment and Technology Call for Awards Nominees Statement

Section Intro | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws

The Fred Buttel Distinguished Contribution Award

The Fred Buttel Distinguished Contribution Award is to recognize individuals for outstanding service, innovation, or publication in environmental sociology or sociology of technology. It is intended to be an expression of appreciation, to be awarded when an individual is deemed extraordinarily meritorious by the Section.  All members of the Section are invited to submit nominations for the award, together with supporting documentation. Nominations for this award must be received by March 1, 2014. To nominate an individual for this award, please send a letter of nomination describing the nominee's contribution to environmental sociology and/or the sociology of technology, accompanied by a copy of the nominee's CV, to the chair of the award committee, Dorceta E. Taylor, at dorceta@umich.edu.

Marvin E. Olsen Student Paper Award. 

The Marvin E. Olsen Student Paper Award recognizes outstanding papers presented by graduate students at the annual American Sociological meetings. In addition to recognition, recipients will receive a modest monetary award to help defray expenses associated with attending the ASA meetings. Nominees are limited to graduate students who are giving presentations at the year’s annual meetings. All members of the Section are invited to submit nominations for the award, together with supporting documentation. All members, including potential recipients, are encouraged to submit nominations. (The paper can be presented at any session or roundtable at ASA). The deadline for submitting papers is March 1, 2014. For more information, contact the chair of the award committee, Sabrina McCormick at sabmc@gwu.edu.

Allan Schnaiberg Outstanding Publication Award. 

The Allan Schnaiberg Outstanding Publication Award is given in alternate years for publications of special noteworthiness in the field of environmental sociology. In alternate years publications are considered in either book or article form. This year the committee will consider books published within the period, January 1, 2011, through December 31, 2013. All members of the Section are encouraged to submit nominations; self-nominations are welcome. To nominate a book, please send three copies of the book along with a nomination letter by March 1, 2014 to Sabrina McCormick at sabmc@gwu.edu.

The Environmental Sociology Teaching And Mentorship Award

The biannual Teaching and Mentorship Award honors faculty members who have provided especially dedicated service to the teaching of environmental sociology and the mentorship of students at the undergraduate and/or graduate level. Section members are encouraged to nominate colleagues, but all members, especially those in smaller institutions, are encouraged to self-nominate. Nomination packets should be scanned into a single PDF and submitted by email to Shannon Bell at shannon.eliz.bell@uky.edu by March 1, 2014. Nomination packets should include the following:

  1. Letter of Nomination, not to exceed 2 pages.
  2. Personal statement on teaching philosophy, not to exceed 3 pages.
  3. CV with the following relevant components highlighted: teaching/mentoring awards and activities; publications or presentations co-authored with students (underline the names of student co-authors and indicate whether undergraduate, master’s, or doctoral student).
  4. Maximum of 5 letters of student support (any mix of present or past undergraduate and/or graduate students)
  5. Maximum of 2 additional letters of support from colleagues who are not former students
  6. Maximum of 3 syllabi of relevant coursework (with no more than 2 graduate syllabi), all from within the previous 5 years
  7. Summary of teaching evaluations for the courses in #6