Section on Environment and Technology

 Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Environment and Technology is to promote sociological research and professional activity in relation to environmental and technological issues. The term "environment" is understood to encompass both the natural and built environment. The term "technology" is to be understood to include the origins and consequences of technology, sociological aspects of technological risk and assessment, the impacts of technology on social behavior, organization, and environment.

Section Officers 2014-2015

Chair: Lori Peek, Colorado State University 2016
Chair-Elect: Kenneth Alan Gould, City University of New York - Brooklyn College 2016
Past Chair: Richard F. York, University of Oregon 2015
Secretary: Stephanie Ann Malin, Colorado State University 2016
Treasurer: Steven R. Brechin Syracuse University 2015
Policy and Research Committee Chair: Rachael Leah Shwom, Rutgers University 2016
Legacy Chair: Sandra T. Marquart-Pyatt Michigan State University 2015
Membership Committee Chair: Jason Konefal, Sam Houston State University 2015
Nominations Committee Chair: Jill Lindsey Harrison, University of Colorado-Boulder 2016
Publications Committee Chair: Justin Farrell, Yale University 2016
Teaching Committee Chair: Shannon Elizabeth Bell, University of Kentucky 2015
At Large Council Member: Diane M. Sicotte, Drexel University 2016
Student Representative: Jennifer J. Reed, University of Nevada Las Vegas 2016