Section on Culture

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Sociology of Culture is to encourage development of this perspective through the organized interchange of ideas and research. The Section on Culture considers material products, ideas, and symbolic means and their relation to social behavior.

Section Officers 2015-2016

Chair Genevieve Zubrzycki, University of Michigan
Chair-Elect Jennifer C. Lena, Columbia University, Teacher's College
Past Chair Timothy J. Dowd, Emory University
Chief Operating Officer Allison Pugh, University of Virginia 2017

Section Council

Claudio Ezequiel Benzecry, University of Connecticut 2016
Andrew J. Perrin, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill 2016
Shyon S. Baumann, University of Toronto 2017
Lauren Rivera, Northwestern University 2017
Francesco Duina, Bates College & University of British Columbia 2018
Terence Emmett McDonnell, University of Notre Dame 2018

Student Representatives
Michael Stambolis-Ruhstorfer, UCLA 2016
Hannah Linda Wohl, Northwestern University 2017