Section on Comparative and Historical Sociology

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Comparative and Historical Sociology is to promote research and teaching on cross-national variation and the temporal dimensions of social life. Section members represent a wide range of theoretical perspectives and methodological approaches, and are thematically likewise diverse in orientation.

Section Officers 2013-2014

Chair: Andreas Wimmer, Princeton University
Chair-Elect: Bruce G. Carruthers, Northwestern University
Past Chair: Julian Go, Boston University
Secretary/Treasurer: Ho-Fung Hung, Johns Hopkins University

Section Council

Mounira Maya Charrad, University of Texas at Austin 2014
Dylan John Riley, University of Calfornia, Berkeley 2014
Emily Anne Erikson, Yale University 2015
Isaac Ariail Reed, University of Colorado-Boulder 2015
Nitsan Chorev, Brown University 2016

Student Representatives

Laura Ford, Cornell University 2014
Elizabeth Pearson, University of California-Berkeley 2014

Newsletter Editors: Emily Erikson and Isaac Ariail Reed.
Webmaster: Rob Jansen