Community and Urban Sociology Call for Awards Nominations

Section Intro | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws

The Robert and Helen Lynd Career - Lifetime Achievement Award

The Robert and Helen Lynd Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes distinguished career achievement in community and urban sociology. Nominators should send all committee members an email letter stating the case for the nominee winning the award and attaching a copy of the nominee's vitae. Please send nominations to the Award Committee chair by April 20, 2016

Miriam Greenberg (committee chair), University of California, Santa Cruz.  

miriam@ucsc.edu.

Emily Molina. Brooklyn College. etmolina@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Miranda Martinez. Ohio State University. mirandajmartinez@gmail.com

 

The Jane Addams Award for Best Article.

The Jane Addams Award (formerly the Park Article Award) goes to authors of the best scholarly article in community and urban sociology published in the past two years. Nominations are now being sought for articles that appeared in 2014 or 2015. Nominations should include standard bibliographic information about the work and a brief comment on its merits. To facilitate distributing articles for committee review, we are also requesting electronic submission of articles when possible. Please send article nominations electronically to the Award committee chair by April 30, 2016.

Please send a short statement of nomination and a copy of the article to:

Josh Pacewicz (chair). Brown University. pacewicz@brown.edu

Chase Billingham. Wichita State University. chase.billingham@wichita.edu

Jonathan Wynn. wynn@soc.umass.edu

 

The Robert E. Park Award for Best Book

The Park Award (formerly the Park Book Award) goes to the author(s) of the best book published in the past two years. Nominations are now being sought for books that appeared in 2014 or 2015. Nominations should include standard bibliographic information about the work, a brief comment on its merits, and copies of the book.  Please submit all nominations and required materials to the committee members by April 30th 2016.  Please send one book to EACH committee member to:

 

Patrick Sharkey (chair).NYU. patrick.sharkey@nyu.edu

Patricia Herzog. herzog@uark.edu

Rory Kramer. Villanova University. rory.kramer@villanova.edu

 

CUSS Student Paper Award

The CUSS Student Paper Award goes to the student author of the paper the award committee regards as the best graduate student paper in community and urban sociology. The competition is open to both published and unpublished article-length papers (roughly 25 pages in length without tables or references) written by a graduate student in the last two years (2014 or 2015). The committee will accept sole-authored and multiple-authored papers as long as the applicant is the lead or senior author. No student-faculty collaborations can be accepted. The Committee will select the paper that demonstrates the most thoughtful, competent or innovative analysis of a theoretical or empirical issue that is germane to the Section’s main interests. Please send all papers electronically to all committee members listed below by April, 30 2016.

 

Shelley Kimelberg (chair). University of Buffalo. shelleyk@buffalo.edu

Marco Garrido. University of Chicago. garrido@uchicago.edu

Jean Beaman. Purdue University. beamanj@purdue.edu

Pamela Pricket, Rice University. prickett@rice.edu

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS