Collective Behavior and Social Movements Call for Awards Nominations

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws

 

Mayer N. Zald Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Student Paper Award

Anyone without a PhD in 2013 is considered a student, and any paper (published or unpublished) written in 2013 by a student or students (i.e., no PhD coauthors) is eligible.  A previously submitted paper may be resubmitted only if significantly revised.  Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members. No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  This award includes a $250 prize.  Send a copy of the paper electronically to each of the committee members by March 1, 2014:

Mayer Zald Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award:  James M. Jasper (chair), (JJasper@gc.cuny.edu),  Deanna A. Rohlinger, (drohling@fsu.edu), Drew Halfmann (dhalfmann@ucdavis.edu), and M. Ali Kadivar (kadivar@email.unc.edu).

 

Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Article Award

Articles and chapters from edited books with publication dates of 2013 are eligible. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send a copy of the article electronically to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2014:

Best Published Article Award:  Nancy E. Whittier (chair) (nwhittie@smith.edu), Catherine Corrigall-Brown (corrigall.brown@uwo.ca), David Cunningham (dcunning@brandeis.edu), and Kevan Harris (kevanh@princeton.edu).

 

Charles Tilly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award

Section members, authors, or publishers may nominate books with publication dates of 2013. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members or publishers.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send or have publishers send a copy of the book to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2014:

Charles Tilly Award for Best Book: Edwin Amenta (chair), (ea3@uci.edu), 36 Frost St, Irvine, CA 92617; Manisha Desai (manisha.desai@uconn.edu), 207 Sedgwick Rd, West Hartford, CT 06107; Rachel V. Kutz-Flamenbaum (rflamenb@pitt.edu), 6708 Wilkins Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15217; and Kathleen M. Blee (kblee@pitt.edu) 4334 Saline St, Pittsburgh, PA 15217.