Section on Sociological Practice and Public Sociology

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Sociological Practice and Public Sociology is to advance sociologically-informed research and practice, to further public discussion of sociological issues, and to promote the use of sociology to inform public policy.

Section Officers 2013-2014

Chair: Philip Nyden, Loyola University Chicago
Chair-Elect: Laura Nichols, Santa Clara University
Past Chair: Henry H. Brownstein, NORC at The University of Chicago
Secretary/Treasurer: Angela A. Aidala, Columbia University

Section Council

Becky Yang Hsu, Georgetown University 2014
Harry Perlstadt, Michigan State University 2014
Chloe E. Bird, RAND 2015
Roy E. Feldman, Behavior Analysis In NY, LLC 2015
Kimberly Fox, Bridgewater State University 2015
Melissa S. Fry, Indiana University Southeast 2016
Kathleen C. Oberlin, Indiana University 2016
Dennis P. Watson, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis 2016