Section on Family

About the ASA Family Section Officers

Karen V. Hansen, Chair
Department of Sociology
Brandeis University
khansen@brandeis.edu
[website]

Debra Umberson, Chair-elect
Department of Sociology
University of Texas, Austin
umberson@prc.utexas.edu
[website]

Annette Lareau, Past Chair
Department of Sociology
University of Pennsylvania
alareau@sas.upenn.edu
[website]

Liana Sayer, Secretary-Treasurer (3-year term began in 2012)
Department of Sociology
University of Maryland
lsayer@umd.edu

Jenifer Bratter, Secretary-Treasurer elect
Department of Sociology
Rice University
jenifer.l.bratter@rice.edu
[website]

Council Members

Ann Meier, Council (through 2016)
Department of Sociology
University of Minnesota
meierann@umn.edu
[website]

Sharon Sassler, Council (through 2016)
Department of Policy Analysis and Management
Cornell University
ss589@cornell.edu
[website]

Kristen Harknett, Council (through 2015)
Department of Sociology
University of Pennsylvania
harknett@sas.upenn.edu
[website]

Christine R. Schwartz, Council (through 2015)
Department of Sociology
University of Wisconsin-Madison
cschwart@ssc.wisc.edu
[website]

Marcy Carlson, Council (through 2014)
Department of Sociology
University of Wisconsin-Madison
carlson@ssc.wisc.edu

Linda Burton (through 2014)
Department of Sociology
Duke University
lburton@soc.duke.edu

Valerie Bonner, Student Rep (through 2014)
Department of Sociology
Temple University
tuc70506@temple.edu
[website]

Amy Brainer, Student Rep (through 2015)
Department of Sociology
University of Illinois at Chicago
abrain2@uic.edu

Heather Jacobson, Newsletter Editor
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
The University of Texas at Arlington
jacobson@uta.edu
[website]

John Girdwood, Webmaster
Department of Sociology
Michigan State University
girdwoo1@msu.edu
[website]