Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Sexualities

Section on Sexualities

 Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws |

 Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on the Sociology of Sexualities is to encourage, enhance and foster research, teaching and other professional activities in the sociology of sexuality, for the development of sociology and the benefit of society, through organized meetings, conferences, newsletters, publications, awards, and other means deemed appropriate by the Section Council. The Section seeks to promote communication, collaboration, and consultation among scholars in sociology, the sociology of sexualities, and allied disciplines.

Section Officers 2013-2014

Chair Salvador Vidal-Ortiz American University
Chair-Elect Hector Carrillo Northwestern University
Past Chair Elizabeth Bernstein Barnard College, Columbia Univ
Secretary/Treasurer Catherine E. Connell Boston University

Section Council

Maura Kelly Portland State University 2014
Laurel Westbrook Grand Valley State University 2014
Amin Ghaziani University of British Columbia 2015
Carla A. Pfeffer Purdue University North Central 2015
Melanie Heath McMaster University 2016
Kimberly Kay Hoang Boston College 2016

Student Representatives

Amy Kathryn Brainer University of Illinois at Chicago 2014
Lisa Miller Indiana University-Bloomington 2014