Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Science, Knowledge and Technology

Section on Science, Knowledge and Technology

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws |


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Science, Knowledge, and Technology (SKAT) is to promote scholarly research and professional activity relating to sociology, science, knowledge, and technology.

Section Officers 2015-2016

Chair Scott Frickel, Washington State University
Chair-Elect Alondra Nelson, Columbia University
Past Chair Steven Epstein, Northwestern University
Secretary/Treasurer Jennifer R Fishman, McGIll University 2017

Section Council

James A. Evans, University of Chicago 2016
Erin Leahey, University of Arizona 2016
Mary Frank Fox, Georgia Institute of Technology 2017
Laura Stark, Vanderbilt University 2017
Ruha Benjamin, Princeton University 2018
Catherine Bliss, University of California San Francisco 2018

Student Representatives:
Michael Halpin, 2017
Alka Menon, Northwestern University 2018

Newsletter Editors: Elizabeth Sweeney, University of Cincinnati, (
Publications Committee: