Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Mental Health

Section on Mental Health
Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws


The purpose of the Section on Sociology of Mental Health is to provide an integrative supportive framework for research on social factors in mental health. The Mental Health Section considers issues ranging from serious mental disorders to subjective indicators of quality of life. The focus is on research and theory pertaining to social processes and mental health functioning.

Section Officers 2013-2014

Chair: Virginia Aldige Hiday, North Carolina State University
Chair-Elect: Jason Schnittker, University of Pennsylvania
Past Chair: Teresa L. Scheid, Univ of North Carolina-Charlotte
Secretary/Treasurer: Kristen Marcussen, Kent State University

Section Council

Alex E. Bierman, University of Calgary 2014
Ellen M. Granberg, Clemson University 2015

Student Representative: Christy LaShaun Erving, Indiana University, Bloomington 2014

Section Committee Chairs

Section Journal Editor: William R. Avison, Western University 2014
Section Award Committee Chair: R. Jay Turner, Vanderbilt University 2014
Section Membership Committee Chair: Sigrun Olafsdottir, Boston University 2015
Section Nominations Committee Chair: Brea Louise Perry, University of Kentucky 2014
Section Nominations Committee Chair: Karen T Van Gundy, University of New Hampshire 2015
Section Publications Committee Chair: Janet Hankin, Wayne State University 2015