Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Medical Sociology

Section on Medical Sociology

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws | |


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Medical Sociology is to foster the development of sociology in the field of health through the organized interchange of ideas, teaching experiences, research programs, and results. The Section on Medical Sociology examines the phenomena of health and illness, the social organization of health care delivery, and differential access to medical resources.\


Section Officers 2013-2014

Chair: Susan E. Bell, Bowdoin College
Chair-Elect: Anne Figert, Loyola University Chicago
Past Chair: Allan V. Horwitz, Rutgers University
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Karen Lutfey, University of Colorado Denver

Section Council

Richard A. Miech, University of Colorado Denver 2014
Dawne M. Mouzon, Rutgers University 2014
Bridget K. Gorman, Rice University 2015
Brea Louise Perry, University of Kentucky 2015

Student Representatives

Chioun Lee, Princeton University 2014
Mieke Beth Thomeer, University of Texas at Austin 2015

Section Membership Committee

Chair: Molly A. Martin, Pennsylvania State University 2014
Joanna Kempner, Rutgers University 2014
Miranda R. Waggoner, Princeton University 2014

Section Nominations Committee

Co-Chairs: Laura M. Carpenter, Vanderbilt University
Rene Almeling, Yale University
Chair-Elect: Sara N. Shostak, Brandeis University
Elizabeth Mitchell Armstrong, Princeton University
Student Representatives
Meredith R. Bergey, Brandeis University
Vanessa Lopes Munoz, Brandeis University
Erin Leigh Pullen, University of Kentucky

Section Publications Committee

Chair: Kathy Charmaz, Sonoma State University

Section Teaching Committee

Chair: Kate W. Strully, University at Albany, State University of New York
Jennifer A. Reich, University of Denver

Section Career & Employment Committee

Chair: William C. Cockerham, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Patricia P. Rieker, Boston University