Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Sociology of Law

Section on Sociology of Law

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | | Bylaws

Mission Statement

The ASA Sociology of Law Section provides a forum for intellectual and personal exchange among sociologists interested in the study of law, legal institutions, and law-related structures and processes. The Section sponsors two sessions and a series of roundtables at the ASA annual meetings, and offers various awards, including a best student paper award every year. It further provides an e-mail list for any announcements of interest to sociologists of law and offers a mentor program for junior faculty.

Section Officers 2015-2016

Chair Laura Beth Nielsen, American Bar Foundation/Northwestern University
Chair-Elect Elizabeth A. Hoffmann, Purdue University
Past Chair Kathleen E. Hull, University of Minnesota
Secretary/Treasurer Sida Liu, University of Wisconsin-Madison 2017

Section Council

Ellen Berrey, University at Buffalo, SUNY 2016
Joshua Aaron Page, University of Minnesota 2016
Mark C. Suchman, Brown University 2016
Steven A. Boutcher, University of Massachusetts, Amherst 2017
Ruth Horowitz, New York University 2017
Mary E. Vogel, NYU (Visiting) and University of Manchester 2017