Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Comparative and Historical

Section on Comparative and Historical Sociology

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Comparative and Historical Sociology is to promote research and teaching on cross-national variation and the temporal dimensions of social life. Section members represent a wide range of theoretical perspectives and methodological approaches, and are thematically likewise diverse in orientation.

Section Officers 2014-2015

Chair: Bruce G. Carruthers, Northwestern University
Chair-Elect: Monica Prasad, Northwestern University
Past Chair: Andreas Wimmer, Princeton University
Secretary/Treasurer: Ho-Fung Hung, Johns Hopkins University 2015

Section Council

Emily Anne Erikson, Yale University 2015
Isaac Ariail Reed, University of Colorado-Boulder 2015
Nitsan Chorev, Brown University 2016
Cedric de Leon, Providence College 2017
Anne Kane, University of Houston - Downtown 2017

Student Representatives

Eric W. Schoon, University of Arizona 2015

Newsletter Editors: Emily Erikson and Isaac Ariail Reed.
Webmaster: Rob Jansen