Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Collective Behavior Social Movements

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements is to foster the study of emergent and extra-institutional social forms and behavior, crowds, social movements, disasters, riots, fads, strikes, and revolutionary movements are a few of the areas explored by the Section.


Section Officers 2013-2014

Chair: Edwin Amenta
Chair-Elect: James M. Jasper Graduate Center of the City University of New York
Past Chair: Nancy E. Whittier Smith College
Secretary/Treasurer: Sarah Sobieraj Tufts University


David Cunningham Brandeis University 2014
Deana Rohlinger Florida State University 2014
Manisha Desai University of Connecticut 2015
Rachel V. Kutz-Flamenbaum University of Pittsburgh 2015
Catherine Corrigall-Brown University of Western Ontario 2016
Drew Halfmann Univ. of California-Davis 2016

Nominations Committee

Chair: Ashley Currier University of Cincinnati 2015
Tina Fetner McMaster University 2014
David Nicholas Pettinicchio University of Oxford 2016

Publications Committee

Co-Chair: Grace Yukich Quinnipiac University 2016
Co-Chair: Marc Dixon Dartmouth College 2015
Neal Caren University of North Carolina, Chapel HIll 2014

Workshop Committee

Michelle Marie Proctor Madonna University 2015
Sandra R. Levitsky University of Michigan 2016
W Zakiya T. Luna University of Califonia, Berkeley 2016

Mentorship Committee

Mentoring Committee Chair Jose A. Munoz CSU San Bernardino 2015
Fabio Rojas Indiana University 2014
Tanya Saunders Ohio State University 2016
Lauren J. Joseph Pennsylvania State University 2016