Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Sociology of Population Awards

Sociology of Population Call for Awards Nominees Statement

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website

Otis Dudley Duncan Award

The Section on Sociology of Population announces a call for nominations for the 2014 Otis Dudley Duncan Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Social Demography. The Award will be presented to the author(s) of a recent book that has made significant contributions to social demography. Books published in the last three calendar years (2012-2014) will be considered. Winners of the award for previous years can be found on the Past Award Recipients Page.

Please send nominations by email to the Committee Chair, with copies to the other Committee members. Send copies of nominated books to all three Committee members. Nominations and books should be sent by February 15, 2014.

Otis Dudley Duncan Award Committee: Jennifer E. Glick, Committee Chair, (, Matthew Hall ( and Yang Yang (

Award for Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship in Population

The Sociology of Population Section seeks nominations for an award recognizing an outstanding published article in demography or population studies by a sociologist. The nomination deadline is February 15, 2014.

To be eligible, articles must have a 2012, 2013, or 2014 publication date. Self-nominations are accepted. Accompany nominations with a short letter explaining the significance of the work and its contribution to the sociology of population.

Please send an electronic copy of the nominating letter(s) and article by email to: Nancy Luke (Chair) at Other committee members include Kristin Turney and Jennifer Montez.

Sociology of Population Section Student Paper Award

The Sociology of Population Section announces the call for papers for the Student Paper Award in social demography. The deadline for submission is February 15, 2014. This award consists of a certificate and support for travel expenses to attend the 2014 ASA meeting in San Francisco. The following are the criteria for submission:

Send your paper and the name and telephone number of the registrar of your degree-granting university to: Sarah Hayford (Chair) at Other committee members are Jason Houle and Jennifer March Augustine.