Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: 2012 Annual Meeting Program Committee

American Sociological Association 2012 Logo

2012 Program Committee

The Program Committee for the ASA Annual Meeting usually consists of twelve people, four officers and eight appointed members, as outlined below.  In years where there is a Secretary-Elect, that person shadows the Secretary and participates in Program Committee meetings.

Vice President-Elect
Executive Officer
two carry-over members from the previous year's Program Committee
six members nominated by the President-Elect and approved by ASA Council

Each Program Committee plans only one Annual Meeting. The committee is constituted in August two years in advance of the meeting for which it is responsible, and it is charged with developing a timely program that will service the diverse discipline of sociology, enhance the meeting theme chosen by the President-Elect, and broaden participation by sociologists in the US and around the world.

Members of the Program Committee for the 2012 Annual Meeting are:

Ronald R. Aminzade
University of Minnesota-St. Paul
Rhonda F. Levine
Colgate University
Elizabeth Armstrong
University of Michigan
(carryover member from 2011)
Barbara Risman
University of Illinois- Chicago
Heidi I. Hartmann
Institute for Women’s Policy Research
Sandra S. Smith
University of California-Berkeley
Jerry A. Jacobs
University of Pennsylvania
(carryover member from 2011)


Jess C. Gilbert
University of Wisconsin-Madison



Erik Olin Wright
Program Committee Chair
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Sally Hillsman
Executive Officer
American Sociological Association
Catherine Berheide
Skidmore College
Edward Telles
Vice President
Princeton University