Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: 2011 Annual Meeting Program Committee

2011 Annual Meeting Program Committee

The Program Committee for the ASA Annual Meeting usually consists of twelve people, four officers and eight appointed members, as outlined below. In years where there is a Secretary-Elect, that person shadows the Secretary and participates in Program Committee meetings.

Vice President-Elect
Executive Officer
two carry-over members from the previous year's Program Committee
six members nominated by the President-Elect and approved by ASA Council

Each Program Committee plans only one Annual Meeting. The committee is constituted in August two years in advance of the meeting for which it is responsible, and it is charged with developing a timely program that will service the diverse discipline of sociology, enhance the meeting theme chosen by the President-Elect, and broaden participation by sociologists in the US and around the world.

Members of the Program Committee for the 2011 Annual Meeting are:

Randall Collins
President and Committee Chair
University of Pennsylvania
Elizabeth Bernstein
Barnard College-Columbia University

Jerry A. Jacobs
University of Pennsylvania

Elijah Anderson
Yale University

Daniel F. Chambliss
Hamilton College

Mercedes Rubio
National Institute of Mental Health, NIH

Elizabeth A Armstrong
University of Michigan
Myra Marx Ferree
University of Wisconsin

David A. Snow
University of California-Irvine

Catherine White Berheide
Skidmore College

Sally T. Hillsman
Executive Officer
American Sociological Association
Erika M. Summers-Effler
University of Notre Dame