Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Marxist Sociology Awards
http://www.asanet.org/sections/marxist_awards.cfm

Marxist Sociology Call for Awards Nominees Statement

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws

 

Marxist Sociology Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes distinguished career achievement in Marxist sociology. Nominators should send all committee members a letter stating the case for the nominee winning the award and attach a copy of the nominee’s vitae. The award is for a body of work of sociological importance in the area of Marxist theory and research. The deadline for nominations is February 16, 2015. The chair in 2015 is Art Jipson (jipsonaj@udayton.edu).

Marxist Sociology Lifetime Achievement Award Committee for 2015:

 

Art Jipson (jipsonaj@udayton.edu)
Jeff Halley (Jeffrey.Halley@utsa.edu)
Richard Hogan (hoganr@purdue.edu)

 

Albert Szymanski-T.R. Young/Critical Sociology Marxist Sociology Graduate Student Paper Award

The Albert Szymanski-T.R. Young/Critical Sociology Marxist Sociology Graduate Student Paper Award is presented to the author of the best graduate student paper. The competition is open to both published and unpublished article-length papers (roughly 25 pages in length without tables or references) written by a graduate student in the last few years (2012-2015). The committee will accept sole-authored and multiple-authored papers as long as the applicant is lead or senior author. No student-faculty collaborations can be accepted. The committee will select the paper that demonstrates the most thoughtful, competent, or innovative analysis of a theoretical, empirical, or activist issue(s) that is germane to Marxism, Marxist Sociology, and Marxist Praxis. The prize for the winner will be $500 ($250 from the Marxist Sociology section of the ASA and $250 from Critical Sociology, which jointly underwrites the award). The deadline for submissions is February 16, 2015. All submissions must be received electronically. All papers and questions should be sent to the chair of the committee. The chair in 2015 is Lloyd Klein (lklein@hostos.cuny.edu).

Albert Szymanski-T.R. Young/Critical Sociology Marxist Sociology Graduate Student Paper Award Committee for 2015:

Lloyd Klein (lklein@hostos.cuny.edu)
Jorge Gonzalez (jorge.gonzalez1004@gmail.com)
Yetkin Borlu (yzb108@psu.edu)
James Ordner (jordner@ku.edu)

 

Paul Sweezy Marxist Sociology Book Award

The Sweezy Book Award goes to the author(s) of the best book published in the past two years in the area of Marxist theory and research. The committee will select the book that best demonstrates the most thoughtful, competent, or innovative analysis of a theoretical, empirical, or activist issue(s) that is germane to Marxism, Marxist Sociology, and Marxist Praxis. Nominations are now being sought for books that were published in 2013 or 2014. Nominations, by email, should include standard bibliographic information about the work and a brief comment on its merits. A copy of the book must be sent to all committee members. The deadline for receipt of all materials is February 16, 2015. All addresses for the delivery of books for consideration are included below. The chair in 2015 is Fred Schiff (fschiff@uh.edu).

The Paul Sweezy Marxist Sociology Book Award Committee for 2015:

Fred Schiff (fschiff@uh.edu)
John Arena (john.arena@csi.cuny.edu)
Brent Kaup (bzkaup@wm.edu)

Make sure to mail a copy of the book to each of the individuals listed below.

Mail a book to:
Fred Schiff
University of Houston
101 Communications Building
Houston, TX 77204-3302

Mail a book to:
John Arena
College of Staten Island
Dept. of Sociology & Anthropology, Bldg 4S
2800 Victory Boulevard
Staten Island NY 10314

Mail a book to:
Brent Kaup
The College of William & Mary
P.O. Box 8795
Williamsburg, VA 23187

Outstanding Marxist Sociology Article Award

The Outstanding Marxist Sociology Article Award goes to the author(s) of the best article (or series of articles) published in the past two years in the area of Marxist theory and research. The Committee will select the article that best demonstrates the most thoughtful, competent, or innovative analysis of a theoretical, empirical, or activist issue(s) that is germane to Marxism, Marxist Sociology, and Marxist Praxis. Nominations should include (by email to all committee members) a brief comment on the merits of the published article (2013 or 2014) and a copy the article. The deadline for receipt of all materials is February 16, 2015. The chair in 2015 is Kevin Anderson (kanderson@soc.ucsb.edu).

The Outstanding Marxist Sociology Article Award Committee for 2015:

Kevin Anderson (kanderson@soc.ucsb.edu)
Talmadge Wright (twright@luc.edu)
Vince Montes (montesv10@gmail.com)

Marxist Sociology Praxis Award

The Marxist Sociology Praxis Award recognizes outstanding practice and achievement, by an individual and/or an organization. Practice may involve (but is not limited to) activism, organizing, and/or outreach to encourage/facilitate social change. Nominations should include a letter (by email to all committee members) stating the case for the nominee for the award and supporting materials:

The deadline for receipt of all materials is February 16, 2015. The chair in 2015 is Leontina Hormel (lhormel@uidaho.edu).

The Marxist Sociology Praxis Award Committee for 2015:
Leontina Hormel (lhormel@uidaho.edu)
Andrew R. Jones (anjones@csufresno.edu)
Michael Sukhov (msukhov@comcast.net)
Michelle Proctor (mproctor@madonna.edu)

 

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS