ASA Press Releases
Contact: Jackie Cooper or Lee Herring
Phone: (202) 247-9871

RSS Feed
Subscribe to ASA News Updates
Follow us on Twitter

July 19, 2005

American Sociological Association to Present Awards to Illustrious Sociologists

Washington, DC – The American Sociological Association (ASA) is pleased to announce the winners of the ASA Awards for 2005. The awards will be presented in a ceremony at the Association’s Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, PA, on Sunday, August 14, at 4:30 p.m. The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of ASA President Troy Duster, New York University and University of California-Berkeley. The awards are the highest honor that the Association confers. Awardees are selected by committees directly appointed by the ASA Council. The ASA award winners for 2005 are:

Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award: Charles Tilly (Columbia University) and Charles Willie (Harvard University)

This annual award honors a scholar who has shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions, particularly work that substantially reorients the field in general or a particular subfield.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology: William Kornblum (Graduate Center, City University of New York)

This annual award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award may recognize work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others, work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as whole, or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare.

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award: Beverly J. Silver (Johns Hopkins University) for her book, Forces of Labor: Workers' Movements and Globalization since 1870 (Cambridge University Press, 2003)

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award: Caroline Hodges Persell (New York University)

This award is given annually to honor outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology which improve the quality of teaching. The award may recognize either a career contribution or a specific product.

Jessie Bernard Award: Evelyn Nakano Glenn (University of California-Berkeley)

The Jessie Bernard Award is given annually in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology. It may be for an exceptional single work, several pieces of work, or significant cumulative work done throughout a professional career.

Award for Public Understanding of Sociology: Pepper Schwartz (University of Washington)

This award is given annually to a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public. The award may recognize a contribution in the preceding year or for a longer career of such contributions.

Dissertation Award: Ann J. Morning (New York University) for her dissertation, The Nature of Race: Teaching and Learning About Human Difference y (Princeton University, PhD, 2004) and Amélie Quesnell-Vallée (McGill University) for her dissertation Pathways from Status Attainment to Adult Health: The Contribution of Health Insurance to Socioeconomic Inequities in Health in the United States (Duke University, PhD, 2004)

The Dissertation Award honors the best PhD dissertation for a calendar year from among those submitted by advisors and mentors in the discipline. The Dissertation Award for 2005 is awarded for the best dissertation defended during calendar year 2004.

About the American Sociological Association
The American Sociological Association (, founded in 1905, is a non-profit membership association dedicated to serving sociologists in their work, advancing sociology as a science and profession, and promoting the contributions to and use of sociology by society.