ASA Press Releases
Contact: Jackie Cooper or Lee Herring
Phone: (202) 247-9871

RSS Feed
Subscribe to ASA News Updates
Follow us on Twitter


July 31, 2002

American Sociological Association To Present Awards to Distinguished Sociologists

Washington, DC–The American Sociological Association (ASA) is pleased to announce the winners of the ASA Awards for 2002. The awards will be presented in a ceremony at the Association’s Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL, on Saturday, August 17th, at 4:30 p.m. The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of ASA President Barbara F. Reskin, University of Washington. The awards are the highest honor that the Association confers and selections are made by committees directly appointed by the ASA Council. The ASA award winners for 2002 are:

Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award: Gerhard E. Lenski (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill)

This annual award honors a scholar who has shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions, particularly work that substantially reorients the field in general or a particular subfield.

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award: Alejandro Portes (Princeton University) and Ruben G. Rumbaut (University of California-Irvine), for Legacies: The Story of the Immigrant Second Generation (University of California Press, 2001)

This annual award is given for a single book or monograph published in the three preceding calendar years. The winner of this award gives the Sorokin Lecture at a meeting of a regional or state sociological association.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award:  John Macionis (Kenyon College)

This award is given annually to honor outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology which improve the quality of teaching. The award may recognize either a career contribution or a specific product.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology: Lloyd H. Rogler (Fordham University)

This annual award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award may recognize work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others, work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as whole, or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare.

Jessie Bernard Award: Barrie Thorne (University of California-Berkeley)

The Jessie Bernard Award is given annually in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology. It may be for an exceptional single work, several pieces of work, or significant cumulative work done throughout a professional career.

DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award: Walter R. Allen (University of California, Los Angeles)

This annual award honors the intellectual traditions of W.E.B. DuBois, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. The award is given for either a lifetime of research, teaching, and service to the community, or to an academic institution for its work in assisting the development of scholarly efforts in this tradition.

Dissertation Award: Kieran Healy (Princeton University)

The Dissertation Award honors the best PhD dissertation for a calendar year from among those submitted by advisors and mentors in the discipline. The Dissertation Award for 2002 is awarded for the best dissertation defended during calendar year 2001.

# # #

About the American Sociological Association
The American Sociological Association (, founded in 1905, is a non-profit membership association dedicated to serving sociologists in their work, advancing sociology as a science and profession, and promoting the contributions to and use of sociology by society.