American Sociological Association

Public Understanding of Sociology Award

Award Description

The Public Understanding of Sociology Award is given annually to an ASA member, person or persons, who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public. The award may recognize a contribution in the preceding year or for a longer career of such contributions. Nominations should include the nominee's vita and a detailed one to two page nomination statement that describes how the person's work has contributed to increasing the public understanding and knowledge of sociology. The nominator must also include additionally three to four nomination letters within their nomination before sending the nomination to ASA. The nominator may also include the evidence supporting the claims made in the nomination letter(s). If these above requirements are not met the committee will not be able to accept the nomination.

Send nominations email to The deadline for the 2019 award is January 31, 2018.


Selection Committee Members

The selection committee is composed of nine members, each serving a staggered three-year term. Members are appointed from among the Association membership by the Council based on the recommendation of the Committee on Committees.

Name Begin End Position
Julie A. Dowling 1/1/2018 12/31/2018 Chair
Margaret Abraham 1/1/2016 12/31/2018 Member
Sabrina Alimahomed-Wilson 1/1/2017 12/31/2019 Member
William Darity, Jr. 1/1/2018 12/31/2020 Member
Michael O. Emerson 1/1/2017 12/31/2019 Member
Alexes Harris 1/1/2018 12/31/2020 Member
Pedro Noguera 1/1/2018 12/31/2020 Member
C.J. Pascoe 1/1/2016 12/31/2018 Member
Steven A. Tuch 1/1/2016 12/31/2018 Member


2018 - Adia M. Harvey Wingfield

2017Victor Rios

2016 - Joel Best

2015 - Katherine Shelley Newman

2014 - Juliet B. Schor

2013 - Ruth Milkman

2012 - Douglas S. Massey

2011 - Barbara Risman

2010 - Valerie Jenness & Doris Wilkinson (co-winners)

2009 - Jack Levin

2008 - David Segal & Shirley Laska (co-winners)

2007 - Andrew Beveridge

2006 - Diane Vaughan

2005 - Pepper Schwartz

2004 - Jerome Scott and Walda Katz Fishman

2003 - Frances Fox Piven

2002 - No award presented

2001 - Alan Wolfe

2000 - Arlie Hochschild

1999 - Herbert J. Gans

1998 - William Julius Wilson

1997 - Charles Moskos

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership