American Sociological Association

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology

Award Description

This award honors an ASA member's outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award may recognize work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others; work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as a whole; or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare. The recipient of this award will have spent at least a decade of full-time work involving research, administrative, or operational responsibilities as a member of or consultant to private or public organizations, agencies, or associations, or as a solo practitioner. Nominations should include a one to two page statement, the vita of the nominee, and three to four letters of support. 

Send complete nomination packets via email to The deadline for nominations for the 2019 award is January 31, 2018.


Selection Committee Members

Name Begin End Position
C.J. Pascoe 1/1/2015 12/31/2017 Member
Gianpaolo Baiocchi 1/1/2015 12/31/2017 Member
Douglas S. Massey 1/1/2016 12/31/2018 Member
Eleanor Lyon 1/1/2016 12/31/2018 Member
Lynne M. Casper 1/1/2016 12/31/2018 Member
Elizabeth A. Armstrong 1/1/2017 12/31/2017 Chair
Rola El-Husseini 1/1/2017 12/31/2019 Member
Juliana M Blome 1/1/2017 12/31/2019 Member
Christopher R. Tamborini 1/1/2017 12/31/2019 Member

Recipients of Distinguished Career ASA Major Award for the Practice of Sociology

2017 - Heidi Hartmann

2016 - Hugh Mehan

2015 - Eleanor Lyon

2014 - Harry Perlstadt

2013 - Donald Light

2012 - Judith Blau

2011 - Henry J. Steadman

2010 - Ross Koppel & Jan Fritz (co-winners)

2009 - S.M. Miller

2008 - John McKinlay

2007 - Robert Dentler

2006 - Arthur Shostak

2005 - William Kornblum

2004 - no recipient selected

2003 - Lewis Yablonsky

2002 - Lloyd H. Rogler

2001 - David Mechanic

2000 - Frances Fox Piven and Richard A. Cloward

1999 - Peter H. Rossi

1998 - Leonard I. Pearlin

1997 - Irwin Deutscher

1996 - Albert E. Gollin

1995 - Albert D. Biderman

1994 - Nelson Foote

1993 - Grace M. Barnes

1992 - Elliot Liebow and Matilda White Riley

1991 - Charles G. Gomillion

1990 - Elizabeth Briant Lee and Alfred McClung Lee

1989 - David L. Sills

1988 - Paul C. Glick

1987 - John W. Riley

1986 - Conrad Taeuber

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership